Marina Pasquet, recipient of the 2023 Claudine Hermann Award, Condensed Matter Thesis Prize

Marina Pasquet was awarded the Prix Claudine Hermann 2023 by the Société Française de Physique for her thesis Stability of soapy objects : wet foams, surface bubbles and giant films.

Marina Pasquet completed her thesis at the Laboratoire de Physique des Solides in Orsay under the supervision of Emmanuelle Rio and Frédéric Restagno. Her work focused on the stability of soap films, bubbles and foams. Marina Pasquet has made remarkable contributions to our understanding of destabilization mechanisms, through the development of original experimental set-ups and the analysis of experiments carried out on board the International Space Station. She has shown that the nature of the surfactants plays a more important role in the evaporation of the liquid film than in its drainage dynamics, as previously thought.

The Claudine Hermann Prize has been awarded every year since 2022, on the recommendation of the Condensed Matter Physics Division Board, to two young researchers, at least one of whom must be a woman . It rewards the quality of their thesis work in condensed matter physics. It bears the name of an immensely talented physicist, a professor at the École Polytechnique from 1992 to 2005 and strongly committed to promoting women in science.