EMS OPA 2022 Instrumentation and Technique Development prize for Cathodoluminescence Excitation Spectroscopy

Two young researchers from the STEM group, Nadezda Varkentina (former postdoc) and Yves Auad (Ph.D) have received the 2022 Outstanding Paper Award from the European Microscopy Society in the Instrumentation and Technique Development category.

The Executive Board of the European Microscopy Society (EMS) has an annual EMS “Outstanding Paper Award“. The award goes to papers containing original work in the field of microscopy, which will be judged on scientific merit, technical and general quality, expected impact, originality, and relevance to microscopy. For 2022, there were in total 17 papers nominated, divided in the three categories: (i) Instrumentation and Technique Development, (ii) Materials Sciences and (iii) Life Sciences. The prize consists of 1000€ plus a plaque for the first author (per awarded paper) in each category and printed awards for all authors.

Nadezda Varkentina and Yves Auad have been awarded of the EMS OPS 2022 for their contribution entitled “Cathodoluminescence excitation spectroscopy: Nanoscale imaging of excitation pathways”. It shows the interest and excitement of the electron spectroscopy and microscopy community with this new technique and with experiment using event-based direct electron detectors. For more information, check the highlight on Cathodoluminescence Excitation Spectroscopy.

Cathodoluminescence excitation spectroscopy: Nanoscale imaging of excitation pathways
Nadezda Varkentina*, Yves Auad*, Steffi Y. Woo, Alberto Zobelli, Laura Bocher, Jean-Denis Blazit, Xiaoyan Li, Marcel Tencé, Kenji Watanabe, Takashi Taniguchi, Odile Stéphan, Mathieu Kociak, Luiz H. G. Tizei
Science Advances 8, eabq4947, 2022
*equal contribution